Our orphanage in Tengeru, Arusha

What was built in 1999 as a dormitory for Maasai children to provide schooling in the distant city is now an orphanage due to the high demand.

Tanzanian children who have no parents or no safe home live here.

These decisions are made in cooperation with the government and family circumstances are regularly reviewed.
There are currently 26 girls aged between two and 14 living in "Little Africa" (as of 11.23) and have a home on the large premises in Tengeru (Arusha). Many of them come from difficult family backgrounds. Some girls have fled forced and child marriages and find a safe home in the orphanage. The children in Little Africa are looked after by Tanzanian staff and go to school in the city.

What happens after graduation?

What happens to our students after they finish secondary school? We have been asking ourselves this question for a long time. As the labour market in Tanzania is very difficult, we try to support both male and female students after they finish school. 

This includes financial support for the period of study at colleges and universities as well as the Vocational Training Centre (VTC), which was founded in 2022.

In the meantime, 200 young adults are receiving further education. As the sponsorships do not cover these costs, there are separate funds for this.

Naserian Vocational Training Centre (VTC)

The Naserian Vocational School is located on the same site as our orphanage "Little Africa" in Arusha. Like all schools in Tanzania, the vocational school is also a boarding school and here we offer the young men and women the three-year "Food Production" course. The aim is that the trainees can either be employed (tourism sector, hospitals, schools) or become self-employed. Further expansion of the vocational school is planned.
Copyright © 2024

Unser Waisenheim in Tengeru, Arusha

Was 1999 als Wohnheim für Massaikinder gebaut wurde um Schulbildung in der weit entfernten Stadt zu ermöglichen, ist nun aufgrund des hohen Bedarfs ein Waisenhaus Kinder.

Hier leben tansanische Kinder, die keine Eltern oder kein sicheres Zuhause haben.

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Regierung werden diese Entscheidungen getroffen und die Familienverhältnisse regelmäßig überprüft.
Aktuell leben 26 Mädchen im Alter von zwei bis 14 Jahren in “Little Africa” (Stand: 11.23) und haben auf dem großen Gelände in Tengeru (Arusha) ein Zuhause. Viele kommen aus schwierigen familiären Verhältnissen. Einige Mädchen sind vor einer Zwangs- und Kinderehe geflohen und finden im Waisenheim ein Zuhause in Sicherheit. Die Kinder in Little Africa werden von tansanischen Mitarbeitenden betreut und gehen in der Stadt zur Schule.

Wie geht es nach der Schule weiter?

Was passiert nach dem Abschluss der Secondary Schule mit unseren Schülern und Schülerinnen? Die Frage stellten wir uns eine lange Zeit. Da der Arbeitsmarkt in Tansania sehr schwer ist, versuchen wir sowohl Studenten und Studentinnen über den Schulabschluss hinaus zu unterstützen. 

Dazu gehören unter anderem finanzielle Unterstützung für die Zeit des Studiums an Colleges und Universitäten als auch die 2022 gegründete Berufsschule “Vocational Training Center” (VTC).

Mittlerweile bekommen 200 junge Erwachsene eine weiterführende Ausbildung. Da die Patenschaften diese Kosten nicht decken, gibt es hierfür gesonderte Mittel.

Naserian Berufsschule (VTC)

Die Naserian Berufsschule liegt auf dem gleichen Gelände wie unser Waisenheim “Little Africa” in Arusha. Wie alle Schulen in Tansania ist auch die Berufsschule eine als Internat geführte Schule und hier bieten wir den jungen Frauen und Männern einen dreijährigen Kurs “Food Production” (Lebensmittelherstellung) an. Ziel ist es, dass die Auszubildenden entweder angestellt werden können (Tourismus Sektor, Krankenhäuser, Schulen) oder sich selbstständig machen können. Ein weiterer Ausbau der Berufsschule ist geplant.
Copyright © 2024